audition prep 2013: an ongoing adventure!

pink is for dramatic, orange is for seriocomic, green is for comic.

I want to make sure that I mention that Objective: Audition Prep 2013 wasn’t just to prepare for that one audition.  It’s going to be an ongoing process.

I’ve either read, or had someone tell me once, that if you want to be an actor auditioning is your job.  The emphasis was on that there are so many factors that go into whether you get cast in something or not (your hair, your face, your prospective costar’s height, the fact that the costume will only fit a size double-zero, and on and on ad infinitum) that you can’t think of the part after you get cast as being your job. The only thing you have control over is your audition.  The audition is your actual job.

I’ve been lazy with this, of course.  I hate memorizing monologues if I’m not actually going to be performing them.  But that’s just it – the audition IS a performance.  I am guilty of thinking of auditions as only auditions, but another piece of advice I’ve been given (or read?) is that every audition is like a two-minute one-person show where you can show off exactly what and how you want to – and you should.

To that end, part of what I’m going to be using my brand-new vlog for is to have an excuse to perform my audition material!  (All the credit goes to my BFF D for this brilliant idea.) Monologues, mostly, but maybe eventually songs as well.  Not only will I familiarize myself with more monologues this way, I’ll have a reason to learn them to begin with.  Learn them, and polish them into something worth recording.  I’m feeling pretty enthusiastic about this idea!

In other news, I spent a few hours this afternoon hunting down film auditions (mostly student film) and sending off resumes and headshots.  I’m really hoping to hear back from some of them, simply because I would love to have some kind of demo reel up online as well.  It’s a huge part of getting cast nowadays, and I have literally nothing, since all my work has been stage work.  Fingers crossed!!

Leave a Reply

