audition prep 2013: day one

day one: oh my god look at all this sheet music

I guess technically this is actually day two, isn’t it? Oh well; I’ll talk about what I did yesterday too!

Yesterday was my weekly singing lesson with my latest singing teacher – one of Maestro’s colleagues who I haven’t thought of a nickname for yet so I’ll have to get back to you on that.  He and I have been concentrating on developing my “pop” voice (lots of straight tone and talk-singing, aka beating the vibrato out of me), which has been slow going so far.  My consistency with singing lessons has been spotty (at best) over the years, but they have all been in the bel canto style.  Furthermore, I “taught myself” to sing (I use this phrasing very loosely) by listening to musicals and opera (and classical-leaning pop singers like Sarah Brightman).  

I don’t know if my voice is naturally inclined to that style or if it’s just that I’ve been working with it so long now that it feels natural to me (and like I have to fight against that instinct).  That was sort of the point of looking into pop-singing lessons in the first place; I didn’t know if I even could sing that way well enough that anyone would want to listen to it.  Additionally, much of what Maestro works on for arrangements and whatnot is pop music, and if he needed help with that – well, I wanted to be able to do that.

…anyway, all that to say that I sprung the fact that I needed to run my audition songs on my singing teacher yesterday and he was very gracious about it despite the fact that he was sick and that’s not really the point of my singing lessons?  Which is what I did! And he was!  

The few I picked to go over were –

We nixed “Once Upon a Dream” because it sits a bit low for me; for whatever reason I always want to sing it for auditions even though I have never felt confident with it?

For my first sixteen bars – “Many A New Day” and “In My Own Little Corner” are somewhat similar, being upbeat Rodgers & Hammerstein pieces.  I think “In My Own Little Corner” is a bit of a cliche audition-wise but it’s so perfect, definitely the thing I feel most comfortable singing out of the four we looked at.  (My singing teacher told me “I kept thinking of Belle from Beauty and the Beast while you were singing that one, I almost had to look it up you sound so much like her.”  BEST COMPLIMENT; how could I not want to sing this after that?) I still haven’t really decided between these two; “Many A New Day” is more solidly uptempo and probably less “done” though let’s be real, R&H is pretty “done.”  (My other option here would be People Will Say We’re In Love; I’ve used the solo arrangement for auditions before.) (Just sing ALL the Rogers & Hammerstein!)

“Unexpected Song” is definitely going to be my second sixteen bars; I just have to pick the sixteen bars I want to use (probably after the key change, why not).

So today my tasks are: to organize my ridiculous amount of sheet music (pictured above), practice practice practice!, pick out my sixteen bars for each song and mark up my sheet music, get some yoga in before class tonight, and remember to take my vitamins.  

Over the course of this week I’m also going to practice my audition makeup and hair, pick out some monologues and start memorizing them, and start looking at other pieces I can sing for auditions.  (I have a different audition coming up later this month that I’m going to need one (impressive) song for, so I’ll be looking into that as well.) I have all this time on my hands right now, I might as well use it!

2 thoughts on “audition prep 2013: day one

    • GOOD GOLLY GOSH. I don’t know that I’m your best resource on this, I never applied to acting schools!, but I’ll try!

      Your best bet, and probably anyone is going to say this to you, is to pick monologues from plays you already know or at least have read all the way through. I know that’s not feasible always, but it’s best because you’ll know the character’s entire trajectory. Sometimes the people you audition for will ask you about the play your monologue is from, and you’ll want to be prepared.

      The best thing, if you have the resources, is to get a good monologue book for people your age. If you’re auditioning for colleges, I imagine you’re somewhere in the late teen range, so you’re going to want to look for age-appropriate material. Further, if you get the chance, read the whole play your monologue is from – if you can’t, at least try to find some kind of synopsis!

      Searching “Monologues for Teenage Girls” on google pulls up a lot of stand-alone monologues, which I have never used myself. If you find one that you like and can perform well, I’d say go for it!! :)

      Additionally, the StageAgent search is a good resource, if a bit basic.
      http://www.stageagent.com/browse/monologues/teen

      I wish you all the luck in your endeavors, Miss Annie!! <333

Leave a Reply

