hold on: one more time, with feeling.

So, uh, I guess I never did write how opening weekend went! Oops!

Opening weekend went really well! It was nice, the first weekend is shorter than subsequent weekends (7:30-9:30 as opposed to 7-11), so it was like easing in to what the rest of the month is going to be like. I do have to stock up on cough drops (I’m talking near-constantly for the entire time I’m there!) but other than that, I really like it! You can see everyone you’re talking to, which is different than being onstage – it’s basically people standing in a room with you. It can make it a little bit awkward when you’re looking out at people and some of them are wide-eyed and hanging on your every word and then others are whispering to the person next to them.

Or when you have a famous person in the audience, which happened Saturday night. I had been warned beforehand but still when I saw a face that was familiar from movies and television I sort of got a bit of a mental jolt. My character is supposed to be a bit flustered anyway, so hopefully that worked out all right! Unfortunately, the gentleman in question had to listen to my monologue twice because the person in the room after mine got backlogged and about half of his group got stuck. So: sorry, famous guy! Hopefully I was entertaining on the second go-round as well as the first.

That happened for three or four groups on Saturday night, actually, which is definitely the most awkward situation that I’ve had thus far (seeing half of the same group when I walk into my room again, looking awkward and trying to get up the secret staircase to the next room). Thankfully, the director had a talk with the person after me in the show and helped her find a way to streamline everything so that we don’t get backlog anymore. (Also, it’s more fun when the group doesn’t know there’s a secret staircase in the room!) Everything in the show is timed really, really carefully, so that when one person takes a minute longer than they should, there’s a ripple effect affecting the rooms that come prior to them and breaks the whole rhythm of the show. Sunday night, we definitely did not have that issue: we had a steady flow of people and zero backlog!


In other news, I haven’t had a singing lesson in SO LONG and I really need to have another one soon. Between getting sick, the wedding, and this show going up (and being exhausted all the time) I haven’t had a spare moment to email GG. Maybe next week! Hopefully next week.

In other other news, since we’ve both been sick and busy and also doing regular relationshippy stuff (shock! horror!), PC and I haven’t had the chance to start on our Secret Government Eggo Project yet. He mentioned the other night that he was going to start working on one of the first songs so hopefully soon!

Leave a Reply

