it struck me that love is a sport, so I pushed you a little bit more.

I had my second rehearsal for my new show last Thursday night, which consisted of me and the director – I wasn’t as prepared as I might have (should have!) been, but I always work better when I have a bit of feedback and direction.

I actually do think that’s one of my strengths as an actress (and maybe as a person?), the fact that I take direction well. Sometimes I get a gentle nudge in one direction and end up overdoing it a little bit and have to be pulled back, but for the most part I like to think that I am fairly good at taking the advice and direction as it’s intended. So I intend to be super-prepared for my rehearsal on Tuesday, since I have enough of an idea of what she’s looking for now, so I can expand upon it. My accent isn’t coming along as easily as I’d like, but that’s something I need to develop more of an ear for so I’m grateful for the practice.

PC and I have also started work on a project – a Secret Government Eggo Project, if you will – I was just going to say “actually, that would be an awesome name for a band or album” but googling the quote shows me I was too late getting to that idea – whatever, I’m still going to call this the Secret Government Eggo Project for now – also I am lost inside all of these dashes – – – ??

Anyway, as I was saying, PC and I have started on our Secret Government Eggo Project as of Friday. The project involves a great deal of singing on my part, and singing in front of PC, at that. It’s making me confront whatever my issues with singing in front of people (particularly people I care about) (particularly people I care about that are musically talented) are, in a big way.

As a matter of fact, around about Tuesday last week he intended to begin our endeavor by finding the keys in which I would be singing, and he could not wring a single note from me. Not a one. He sat and played the intros to multiple songs (over and over again) and looked at me expectantly each time, but I whined and hid (no, really!) and stubbornly refused to sing.

(It’s strange, I’ve had this post half-written for five days now and I’m totally hung up on writing this bit! I suppose that highlights where my issues are.)

In any case, I spent a good long while trying his patience with me while I hid from him and refused to open my mouth to sing until he finally gave up for the night. And then I felt terrible because, honestly, I really want to do this Secret Government Eggo Project, I’m just so incredibly terrified for so many reasons.

Eventually, after a bit of a lecture and some reassurance (and an offer to hypnotize me so that I can sing without anxiety – no, for real, I was like, “really?? can you do that, Svengali?”), I finally got around to opening my mouth to sing on Friday and we are now well on our way with our Secret Government Eggo Project!

I really just need to end this entry here because I’ve been sitting on it for too long!

Leave a Reply

