a real actress!

Dear readers, I have wonderfully good news to impart to you today!

Your protagonist for the duration of this blog, one acting ingénue, is now officially a working actress!

Or, as Satine would say:

"a REAL actress!"

a REAL actress!

Hee! :D

This is the audition I mentioned in my last post, obliquely. It is for a museum in Salem, Massachusetts for the duration of the Halloween season. (Thankfully – THANKFULLY – the performances don’t start until after my bff D’s wedding!) I love Salem, I love Halloween, I love Victorian literature – especially Gothic novels!, I love history, and I love, love, love, love, LOVE feeling as though people believe in what I can do!

I got the job before I even left the audition, which is rare (to say the least) – the director pulled me aside on the conceit that she was asking me how far I’d had to drive but as people started to filter out she told me that she definitely wanted to cast me (though she wasn’t sure in which part, yet). :D! I cannot even begin to express how thrilled I am that she wanted to cast me right off the bat – !!

I also talked to her about possibly coming to do the Christmas show, depending on who she has coming back from last year, which would be amazing as well!

Unfortunately, I had to “give notice” for Grease yesterday as well. As sad as it was – and it was sad! the director and the stage manager both went “nooooooo!!” when I told them – they were all very happy for me, and I didn’t burn any bridges. They told me definitely to come back if they’re doing something in the future. I was glad that I went down in person to talk to them about it instead of chickening out and calling (like I wanted to).

Tonight was my very first rehearsal and I couldn’t be more excited!!

6 thoughts on “a real actress!

  1. I was randomly looking up blogs about people who have gone through auditions and whatnot and I stumbled across yours. Firstly, congrats on the successful audition (though this is technically old news by now) and now that halloween is almost over, I hope you can continue to find more work. Secondly, I wanted to ask if you went to school for acting. I want to be an actress too but I never went to uni for it and I’m feeling like I missed out on a lot. Your thoughts on this, if at all?

    Thanks,
    M

    • Well, thank you very much for the well-wishes, first off! That’s very kind of you! I do actually have a Christmas show lined up, so that’s exciting as well!

      To answer your question, no, I didn’t go to school for theatre. I think that studying theatre in a school capacity can be extremely helpful for some people, and that some people really do get a lot out of it. Like many things, it really depends on the person and what you’re willing to put into it. In acting, soooo much depends on who you know and the connections you can make, and there are some acting schools that are really really good for that. But again, I’ve also seen people come out of a theatre program where they were adored by their teachers (biggest fish in a small pond kind of thing) and then not have any way to cope with what the reality is like.

      I think acting school can definitely give you tools to give a more successful audition and, most relevantly, get you connections if you really click with your professors and the like. There are definitely times when I think I’ve missed out on that, but at this point I’m determined to give this a shot even without the school experience. I’m still in the very beginning stages of venturing out into the world, so maybe in a year I will be singing a different tune!

      Thanks for the question! <3

Leave a Reply

