pray, tell him I am weeping too.

good to remember!

Today I worked on
Once Upon a Dream
A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes, from Disney’s Cinderella
The Willow Song, The Ballad of Baby Doe
V’adoro, Pupille

I also brought along “Part of Your World,” from The Little Mermaid, but MP played through a couple of pages and said, “no, this is too low for you.” She amended that it was partially that and partially that I don’t have a strong pop or musical theatre belt. Okay, I don’t have any belt at all, period.

Basically what it comes down to is this: I have a voice (such as it is) that is good (for certain values of good) for only a certain few things. Old-school Disney Princess music happens to fall in that very narrow niche, while the newer-school Disney Princess stuff is tougher because I find it difficult to let go and belt.

We also worked on “V’adoro, Pupille” again, one of my favorites. Except I forgot to work on my ornamentation, haha. Oops. She sang through “The Willow Song” with me, as I wasn’t as familiar with that one, and I think I’m actually going to like singing that one, it’s just gorgeous.


Since I got my headshots today, and with them some samples up on Facebook where my dear friend and photographer mentioned what I’m going to be auditioning for, I guess the cat is out of the bag. I’m going down to Florida to audition to work in Disney World. (Augh, I feel queasy even admitting that on this blog! It just goes to show how deeply-held my superstitions are, I guess.) (I guess looking at my musical choices for the past few weeks makes this one super obvious, though.) I’m not super optimistic, considering how incredibly competitive it must be, but everyone I’ve talked to about it seems to think it would be a perfect fit. I do have the right personality, at least!

And I leave you with some food for thought: Part 1Part 2
Literally the sweetest thing I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

