what I learned at my last audition

Dear Self,

If you think it’s a good idea to audition for a show with a song chosen specifically from that show even if it’s out of your comfortable vocal range, IT IS NOT. YOU ARE WRONG.

love,
j

Last week, I had an audition – and I did end up getting cast in the ensemble, but I need to realize that I’m never going to be a mezzo-soprano without a lot of work. (At least, not a low-leaning mezzo-soprano.)

Unfortunately, I also got in a car accident last week so I won’t get to do the show. Nor will I be going to any singing lessons in the forseeable future. Nor will I be going to any other auditions for a while.

I need to figure out some projects to keep my performing mind busy while I’m trapped at home! I do have a couple of monologues to memorize. That’s something, at least?

One thought on “what I learned at my last audition

  1. When do you normally have your voice lessons? If you can schedule them on a Wednesday or Thursday, I could drive you. When can I see you next?

Leave a Reply

